Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Doug HermannDoug Hermann
      Participant

The delivery truck arrived at our house on January 26th. with the Oonagh kit. 135 days ago and I am now finally putting on some final color! The paints are from George Kirby – highly recommend them! Seem to be genuinely nice people when I have talked with them (Kim and George Kirby).

The interior is #32  sand, low luster. All bright work will be finished with Pettit Captains Varnish, Satin. The (what I would call the boot stripe) area between the upper and lower guards will be #32 Sand, semi-gloss. The hull will be #9 Blue, semi-gloss. The bottom is white, non-ablative, anti-fouling.

I am rolling on the paint with a 1/4” nap, 4” long roller I think. I am not tipping it with a brush. I don’t think it needs it. I did use some Flood’s Penetrol. Went about 50% of what directions said to use. I think I would use even less the next time. I am by no means an expert in paint formulations. Use what you know that works for you, or try it and be ready to strip it back if it fails! At 50% the paint seemed almost too thin. But it went on nicely.

Contrast with white primer

5F0E87D2-4014-4432-A544-164625C6F64D

The darker brown area is where I have left the Dynel exposed. I think after two finish coats, there will be no anti-skid effect remaining. Maybe I used too much epoxy, fill coat was too much, Kirby paint is thick – maybe it would need to be really thinned down. No idea how the pros do i;, if i lose a few guests overboard, so be it. What’s the fun of boating if you don’t get wet occasionally??

603C5F02-B539-4767-823E-4A89A5F8F189

After 2nd coat of finish paint goes on, I will finally install the inwales. I have them ready, probably 10+ coats of varnish now. I put on the satin coat today.

The final element to be installed will be the gunnel guard I will finish up painting, varnishing, hardware installations before I tackle that . I still haven’t purchased material or made the mast yet!